precariously balanced book piles


Here’s something you probably didn’t know: I work in a bookstore. So it should come as no surprise that my list of books to read is as tall as I am, and that the stack of books that is balanced precariously atop my nightstand is about… a bajillion pages thick. Right now I’m re-reading some books from my childhood, the Guests of War Trilogy by Kit Pearson. Next in line will be Divergent, a newly released dystopian novel by Victoria Roth, as is my new obsession (Dystopians, not Roth). And to yet more an unsurprising reaction, The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis. I wouldn’t be a very good book whore if I hadn’t read the winner of Canada Reads now, would I?

I also realized last week that I had yet to read The Lost Symbol; Dan Brown’s latest, of which I never miss. So I bought that to add to my pile. To demonstrate how diverse this “pile” of mine is.. I can tell you that it includes a Sarah Dessen novel, a biography of a polygamist wife, a Jodi Picoult book, The Tales of Beedle The Bard by J.K. Rowling, a grammar book, a (gasp) teen dystopia novel, Persuasion, a philosophy book, Debt-Free Forever, and a weight-loss method book. If you can find a pattern in all of that.. well, even I can’t.

At least I can attempt to broaden my thinking..

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

